PropelAuth users on a paid plan can create their own custom properties to store information about a user.
There are two types of user properties:
- Managed by your users - These are fields that can be viewed and edited by your users. Some examples of these are name, profile picture, terms of service, etc. You and your team can also edit these fields on behalf of your users through the dashboard or our APIs.
- Managed by you - These are fields that your users cannot view or edit. Some examples of these are Stripe customer id, user group, A/B testing group, etc.
There are also a variety of input types to select from when you create a custom property, such as text, enum (dropdown selection) and date.
Each user property has a set of options that you can configure. These options include:
|The name of the property. This will be used as the key in your user object.
|The label of the property. This will be used as the label in your signup page and account page.
|The type of the property (e.g. Text, Date, Enum, etc).
|Collect on Signup
|Whether or not this property should be collected on signup. If enabled, your signup page will automatically update to collect this field.
|Show in Account Page
|Whether or not this property should be shown in your users' account page. If enabled, your users will be able to view and optionally edit this field.
|Whether or not this property is required. See the section below for more information.
|Include in Token
|Enabling this option will include this proprety in the access token (JWT). This means you can access it on your backend without making an external request to us, however, this should not be enabled for sensitive data.
|Collect via SAML
|For your users that are setting up SAML SSO, this option will allow them to set up an attribute mapping to collect this field automatically.
When do required properties get collected?
When setting up a required property, you can choose between it being required for all users or only new users.
If you choose all users, then all of your existing users will be prompted to fill out this property the next time they log in.
If you choose only new users, then only users who sign up after this property is required will be prompted to fill out this property.